IPU ( Inter-parliamentary Union )

Inter-Parliamentary Union is an International Parliamentary Organization which is made up of the Parliaments of sovereign States. IPU was created in 1889 by the Frenchman Frederic Passy and the Englishman William Randal Cremer who were Nobel Peace Prize laureates.

The purpose of IPU is to work for peace and cooperation among peoples and for the solid establishment of representative institutions.

IPU’s main work fields are Strong Parliaments, Gender Equality, Human Rights, Sustainable Development, Peace and Security, Global Governance and Youth.

IPU currently has 178 Member Parliaments and 12 Associate Members. The Union Assembly of Myanmar joined IPU in 2012.

IPU shall:

(1) Foster contacts, coordination and exchange of experience among Parliaments and parliamentarians of all countries;

(2) Consider questions of international interest and express its views on such issues with the aim of bringing about action by Parliaments and their members;

(3) Contribute to the defence and promotion of human rights, which are universal in scope and respect for which is an essential factor of parliamentary democracy and development;

(4) Contribute to better knowledge of the working of representative institutions and to the strengthening and development of their means of action.

IPU works closely with the United Nations and other partner organizations whose goals we share. Today, IPU is the organization that most closely reflects world public opinion. More than 6.5 billion of the world’s 7 billion people live in states whose parliaments are members of the IPU and it is their elected representatives who engage in and steer our policies. By bringing parliaments together, IPU brings people together.

Members, Associate members and Permanent Observers of IPU

IPU has 178 Member Parliaments, 12 Associate Members and about 70 Permanent Observer Organizations.

IPU Headquarters is located in Geneva, Switzerland. IPU Assembly is hold twice a year. The Parliaments which are “neighbouring” and “in-region” countries of Myanmar are:


  • Cambodia
  • Indonesia
  • Laos
  • Malaysia
  • Philippines
  • Singapore
  • Thailand
  • Vietnam


  • China
  • Japan
  • Korea
  • India
  • Australia
  • New Zealand

Geopolitical Groups

Geopolitical Groups were first established within the IPU at the beginning of 1950s. Today IPU’s 6 Geopolitical Groups play an important role in the functioning of IPU. These Groups are as follows;

(1) African Group (52 members)

(2) Arab Group (21 members)

(3) Asia-Pacific Group (36 members)

(4) Eurasia Group (9 members)

(5) Group of Latin America and the Caribbean (24 members)

(6) Twelve Plus Group (most European nations, Canada, New Zealand, Australia)(47 members)

Facebook Link: IPU Facebook